04.07.2008

Ringing the bell curve (a poem by Bob Hicok)

I’m doing a study on ambition.
For science
I say to participants
as I take their money.
If they run after me
but don’t catch up
I write down that they’re slow.
Those that catch me
but are ticklish I’ve labeled
the “giggling poor.”
You see why I gravitated
to the social sciences.
I have a pool and you don’t.
I have nomenclature
at my disposal.
I have your address
and an index of your contortions.

One Response to “04.07.2008”

  1. I love Bob Hicok.

Leave a Reply

