04.03.2008

Erasure (an excerpt from the novel by Percival Everett)

I tried to distance myself from the position where the newly sold piece-of-shit novel had placed me vis-a-vis my art. It was not exactly the case that I had sold out, but I was not, apparently, going to turn away the check. I considered my woodworking and why I did it. In my writing my instinct was to defy form, but I very much sought in defying it to affirm it, an irony that was difficult enough to articulate, much less defend. But the wood, the feel of it, the smell of it, the weight of it. It was so much more real than words. The wood was so simple. Damnit, a table was a table was a table.

Leave a Reply

